Category Archives for Promotion and Marketing

My Writing Process Blog Tour

Writing process? What writing process?

Games of Fate (FFSD Book #1)

Games of Fate (FFSD Book #1)

I’m scattered. I’ll admit it. Not as much as Rysa, the heroine of my Fate -Fire -Shifter -Dragon series, who lives with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder. But scattered, I am.

Still, my good friend and editor Annetta Ribken over at asked me to participate in the “My Writing Process” blog tour. So I figured I’d see if there is some “process” buried under all of the scatter.

Check out Annetta’s work here. Believe me, it’s worth the click.

Let’s get started:

Daniels fire short novel

Launching May 1, 2014.

What am I working on?  Daniel’s Fire, book two of my contemporary erotic romance series, The Quidell Brothers, just went off to my copy editor today.

I’m starting Silence, the bridge novella between Fate –Fire –Shifter –Dragon Trilogy One: Activation, and Trilogy Two: Redemption. Trilogy Two launches late this year with book four, All But Human.


Silence COVER trilogy

Early SILENCE Mock-up

Also in process at the moment is the new cover design for Trilogy Two.  Here’s an early mock-up of Silence.  It will be tweaked, but the general design is there.

Once Silence is out the door, I’m starting a new military science fiction series with Ice Dogs. Not going to say much more about it right now other than it’s AWESOME.


How does my work differ from others in its genre? With FFSD, this is a surprisingly easy question to answer: What you are reading is not what you think it is. FFSD is not straight-up urban fantasy. It’s not straight-up paranormal romance. In terms of the characters, it has a whole lot more “real” to it than it does “not real.” And the fantasy elements aren’t as “fantasy” as they appear to be.

With the Quidell Brothers, I focus a lot on individual psychological growth. My characters grow as people, not just as a relationship.


 Why do I write what I do? Young women with ADHD aren’t the characters you expect to save the world. Men with PTSD need help—and need to be allowed to seek it out. Everyone needs to see their own worth.

The characters are why I write what I write.


How does your writing process work? Scenes for a new title often pop into my mind’s eye in groups. It’s sort of like how shotgun shot hits a target. I get snippets here, another there. Like I said; scattered.

For example, right now I’m working on Silence and organizing the second FFSD trilogy. This morning I got a particularly interesting flash involving beer, cold weather, and the incredible dexterity of a dragon’s hand.

I guarantee you, this particular scene will appear in some form somewhere in the second trilogy. I just don’t know where, yet.

Once I get the snippet, I immediately look for the situation and the character’s problem. From there, I figure the what, where, why, when, and how of it. I make notes and often I’ll make plot road maps. Pivotal scenes act as targets I aim the characters toward.

But mostly I let the story tell itself the way it wants to be told.

That’s how it works for me. Don’t forget to check out my friends next week, when they post their processes:

 JC Andrijeski: Writer of new adult fantasy, urban fantasy and paranormal romance… join THE REBEL ARMY for news & new releases here.

Jacqueline DriggersJacqueline is a fifty-something writer who is pursuing her high school dream of being a published writer, and her writing can be found on wattpad, as well as in her various blogs.


Fifth of Blood is live on iTunes!

5 FoB COVER trilogy cover update smalliTunes


Rysa’s out of control abilities are eating her alive.  No one—not Ladon and Dragon, nor their sisters—dare stand within thirty feet of the lethal power her body exudes.  But when Ladon’s ruptured past consumes his mind, only Rysa holds the cure he needs.


But she’s out of his reach.  

And she’s wasting away.

To make a bad situation worse, an old Fate family caught Rysa’s scent.  Now she must find the answers to their problems—and recover her talisman—before a Roman Emperor finds his prey.

With the help of the newly-healed, newly-invincible Derek, Rysa plays a game of cat and mouse with the worst Fates and Burners on the planet.  And maybe—just maybe—they will all come out alive.

FLUX OF SKIN release date set

Flux of Skin Flux of Skin, Book 2 of the Fate ~ Fire ~ Shifter ~ Dragon series, is set for release September 3, 2013.


Contains Adult Sexual Content and some violent imagery.


Flux of Skin, book two of the Fate ~ Fire ~ Shifter ~ Dragon series, picks up Ladon and Rysa’s story four hours after the events of book one, Games of Fate.


How many loves must Ladon watch die?


Ladon thought he controlled the rage.  He thought he left his past—and his violence—behind.  But the Shifters take Rysa and now no one is safe…


Ladon wanted a gentle life.  But century after century, the call to battle malicious Fates, Shifters, and Burners always won.  The world needed him.  So he fought.

War took its toll and now, sometimes, his scars show.  When it happens, Ladon ruptures—body, mind, and soul.  And the world pays.

But he’s found a new way:  a modern life with his beloved Rysa.  He won’t give her up.  Not because of family strife.  Not because of the issues twisting her life into a raging cyclone.  And definitely not because of war—until a new group of Shifters rain death onto everyone he loves.


Every Shifter understands fury.  Now they learn rupture.


FLUX OF SKIN, book 2 of the Fate ~ Fire ~ Shifter ~ Dragon series, a New Adult Urban Fantasy series with Strong Romantic Elements by Kris Austen Radcliffe, continues the story of Rysa and Ladon.  Set in the open spaces of America, the series takes Rysa and Ladon—and Ladon’s companion beast, Dragon—through a landscape punctuated by unfamiliar creatures:  Fates with the ability to see past, present, and future.  Ghouls called Burners who devour with fire and acid.  Shifters who shape much more than their bodies.  And two dragons who speak with color and pattern.


FLUX OF SKIN, available Sept 3, 2013.